For all awards except Broken Oar, you should indicate how the nominee’s efforts are above and beyond their regular job.  All awards are discretionary; none are required to be given each year.  All awards are limited to one recipient per year, except for Awards of Merit where multiple recipients may be rewarded within a year.

Submit an Award Nomination Online

Lifetime Achievement Award
For those people who go above and beyond year after year.  This highly prestigious award should go to an individual who has made a substantial lifetime contribution to fisheries.  Substantial lifetime contributions to the American Fisheries Society and/or Oregon Chapter are also recommended.  This individual should have actively participated in other conservation, professional, or social organizations that promote sound fisheries and resource management practices.  They must be a member of the AFS Parent Society as well as the Oregon Chapter.  This award will be presented to a maximum of one person per year.

Fishery Worker of the Year
This is one of the Chapter’s highest individual awards for fisheries professionals.  Nominees must be AFS members in good standing who are responsible for substantial single or sustained accomplishments above and beyond their regular job. Nominations should indicate how efforts are related to the goals of guiding and influencing sound resource practices.

Fishery Team of the Year
This award represents recognition that there are outstanding teams that merit acknowledgement for excellent work beyond an Award of Merit. The stringent award criteria are similar to the Fishery Worker of the Year, but for team efforts. This award recognizes the collaborative efforts to understand and manage fisheries resources, and that these efforts frequently cross geographic, disciplinary and socioeconomic boundaries.

At least one nominee of the team must be an AFS member in good standing. The team or group must have been responsible for substantial single or sustained accomplishments. Each member of the team nominated must have produced a substantial portion of the work. Nominations should indicate how they are related to the goals of guiding or influencing sound resource practices. To demonstrate equivalent contributions, describe substantive contributions of each member of the team.

Award of Merit
This award recognizes individuals, groups, or organizations that have made special contributions to fisheries. Recipients do not need to be AFS members.

Bill Wingfield Memorial Award in Fish Culture
Nominees should be individuals or groups that have contributed significantly to advancing fish culture (including fish health) in Oregon. AFS members or non-members may be nominated.

Broken Oar Award
Everyone’s favorite and just for fun, the Broken Oar Award is presented for “outstanding display of field technique and coordination.” No doubt you already have some nominees in mind from this year’s field season! AFS members or non-members may be nominated.

Awards Chair, Brian Bangs, (541) 908-1538

Submit an Award Nomination Online